I do not miss our home

I do not miss our home the carefully calculated paint colors 

the kitchen where our glasses steamed 

the bed I sometimes left for the couch
I do not miss our home, because 

in death 

the way the way the dishes stack 

doesnʼt matter 
the rigor mortis that took hold 

once we decided we were ending 

left us without the strength to 

fight for our life 
we did not invest in our embalming 

rather, embraced decay 

I left first and you followed 

but not in a love story 

kind of way 
I do not miss our home 

but I’ll admit, I did drive past 
somehow without curtains 

it appears more vault 

than tombstone 
suture my mouth shut 
I no longer wish to speak 

of the ghosts we left behind 

-Unknown-

Leave a Reply

